The Suicide Squad full cast confirmed

James Gunn has confirmed the full cast of The Suicide Squad

Director James Gunn has officially revealed the full cast of Warner Bros’ upcoming film The Suicide Squad.

Gunn revealed the lineup this week via his Twitter account. The full cast consists of David Dastmalchian, John Cena, Jai Courtney, Joaquín Cosío, Nathan Fillion, Joel Kinnaman, Mayling Ng, Flula Borg, Sean Gunn, Juan Diego Botto, Storm Reid, Pete Davidson, Taika Waititi, Alice Braga, Steve Agee, Tinashe Kajese, Daniela Melchior, Peter Capaldi, Julio Ruiz, Jennifer Holland, Viola Davis, Idris Elba, Margot Robbie and Michael Rooker.

Though we already knew a lot of them, there are some good surprises in there too.

Some cast members are returning to reprise their Suicide Squad roles, including Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang, Joel Kinnaman as Rick Flag and Viola Davis as Amanda Waller.

Dastmalchian as the Polka-Dot Man and Daniela Melchior as Ratcatcher had already been announced, as had Capaldi, Davidson, Fillion, Elba and Waititi’s but in undisclosed roles. The rest are brand new names, or names that had been rumoured to be attached but not confirmed.

Interestingly, several news outlets reported that Rooker was involved with the film earlier this year, only to have the reports be debunked, so we’re both surprised and pleased to see his name on the list.

The Suicide Squad is being written and directed by James Gunn, and produced by Michael De Luca, Peter Safran, Deborah Snyder and Zack Snyder, with Lars P Winther serving as a co-producer.

The Suicide Squad is in cinemas from 6 August 2021. Get all the latest superhero news with every issue of SciFiNow.