Shadow Service: Exclusive cover reveal and competition!

We exclusively reveal the cover of comic book Shadow Service, plus we have an interview with creator Cavan Scott and there’s a chance to win one of two copies of Shadow Service Volume 1!

Shadow Service

Cavan Scott has a portfolio that includes Star Wars, Doctor Who, Vikings, Pacific Rim, Sherlock Holmes, Star Trek, Assassin’s Creed and Wonder Woman, and we are delighted to exclusively reveal the cover of Issue 8 in his debut creator-first project; Shadow Service.

Full of magic and monsters (including a smart-talking rat), Shadow Service combines urban fantasy, horror and spy action, and is said to be an absolute must for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Guillermo del Toro, Neil Gaiman and Mike Mignola.

Volume 1 (20 April, Vault Comics) introduces us to Gina Meyer, a witch-turned-spy on the run from everyone she’s ever trusted, including Section 26, the supernatural intelligence service commonly known as MI666. Our second arc, which kicks off with issue 6 (31 March, Vault Comics), moves the action to Rome as Gina goes to ground…

“We always knew that we wanted to bring a travelogue aspect to Shadow Service, leaning into the long-standing traditions of both Bond and Mission: Impossible,” Cavan Scott told us on the series so far. “Gina has become completely unmoored. All she knows is the seedy streets of London and here she is racing around the Italian capital, coming face-to-face to demons she only half believed existed.

“We also learn more about our main villain of the story, the deadly Lady Yastrik, who was teased at the end of the previous volume. Yastrik is everything Gina isn’t – sophisticated, assured and always in control. She’s also intrigued with our young witch, seeing something in Gina that she can use for her own agenda. As this exclusive reveal of Issue 8’s cover suggests, that agenda comes with a terrible price…

“As always, our artist and co-creator Corin Howell brings everything to the table for this run of issues, with car chases, fantastic monsters, exquisite body horror and even a visit to a demonic den of iniquity that has to be seen to be believed.”

Now you can take home a digital copy of Shadow Service Volume 1 with our latest competition! To enter, simply answer the following (competition closes on 4 March)…

What is the Supernatural Intelligence Service commonly known as in Shadow Service?

Volume 1 of Shadow Service is available on general release from Vault Comics on 20 April, 2021. Cavan can be found on Twitter @CavanScott and www.cavanscott.com.