Neil Gaiman writes 11th Doctor Who book for 50th anniversary

Neil Gaiman’s Nothing O’Clock stars Matt Smith’s Doctor and Amy Pond in the 80s

210297_219580234722678_127031120644257_1001514_7456834_oNeil Gaiman is celebrating the Doctor Who 50th by writing the 11th and final installment of Puffin’s series, starring Matt Smith’s Doctor and Amy Pond as his companion. It’s titled Nothing O’Clock and set somewhere during the first series of Matt Smith’s run.

Neil Gaiman adds: “The story is mostly on Earth, in our time now and in 1984, but also somewhere else, a very, very long time ago. I had never created an original monster for Doctor Who and really enjoyed getting to create a creepy Doctor Who monster of the kind that we haven’t quite seen before… I hope that the Kin will get out there and occasionally give people nightmares. And that you will be worried if a man in a rabbit mask comes to your door and tries to buy your house.”

In the past, Gaiman has written Doctor Who episodes ‘The Doctor’s Wife’ and ‘A Nightmare In Silver’. He now joins a line-up of authors that include Eoin Colfer, Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Charlie Higson and more, who have reimagined their chosen Doctor to create brand new Who adventures.

The Doctor Who 50th anniversary special will air on 23 November 2013. Pick up the Doctor Who Regeneration box set  on DVD for £43.84 from Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 stories is available on 21 November in paperback, published by Puffin Books. Pre-order it for £7.99 from