Ghostbusters 2020 gets an official title

Jason Reitman’s Ghostbusters 2020 finally has a proper title

It’s all happening for Ghostbusters 2020 this week. Alongside the news that the film will be releasing a trailer in the coming days, it has also revealed its official title: Ghostbusters: Afterlife. Very fitting.

The film will see a handful of original Ghostbusters stars return, including Bill Murray starred as Peter Venkman, Dan Aykroyd as Ray Stantz, Ernie Hudson as Winston Zeddemore, Sigourney Weaver as Dana Barrett and Annie Potts as Janine Melnitz.

New cast members confirmed for Ghostbusters: Afterlife include Paul Rudd (Ant-ManWet Hot American Summer), Mckenna Grace (Captain MarvelAnnabelle Comes Home), Logan Kim, Celeste O’Connor, Bokeem Woodbine (Fargo) Finn Wolfhard (Stranger ThingsIt) and Carrie Coon (The LeftoversGone Girl).

Ghostbusters 3 is being directed by Jason Reitman, the son of Ghostbusters (1984) and Ghostbusters II (1989) director Ivan Reitman, and will take place in the same universe as the first two films. Reitman co-wrote the script with Gil Kenan.

Get all the latest sci-fi news with every issue of SciFiNow.