Game Of Thrones Season 7 confirmed – Valar Morghulis!

No surprises here: Season 6 will not be Game Of Thrones’ last

Season 6 hasn’t even started airing yet, but the future of Game Of Thrones has already been confirmed, with HBO officially renewing the show for a seventh season.

Where it goes beyond this is anyone’s guess, however. Showrunners David Benioff and DB Weiss recently cast doubt on the future of the show in an interview with Collider by saying that they were “down to our final 13 episodes after this season. We’re heading into the final lap.” Unless the subsequent seasons are shortened, this could mean that Season 7 will be its last – although until something is officially confirmed, we won’t get to hasty.

Among the returning cast members for Season 6 are Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister), Emilia Clarke (Daenerys Targaryen), Lena Headey (Cersei Lannister), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Jaime Lannister), Maisie Williams (Arya Stark), Sophie Turner (Sansa Stark), Isaac Hempstead-Wright (Bran Stark), Brienne of Tarth (Gwendoline Christie), Alfie Allen (Theon Greyjoy), Iwan Rheon (Ramsay Bolton), Natalie Dormer (Margaery Tyrell), Jonathan Pryce (the High Sparrow), Liam Cunningham (Davos Seaworth), Carice van Houten (Melisandre), Iain Glen (Jorah Mormont) and Aiden Gillen (Petyr Baelish).

Game Of Thrones: Season 6 will air on Sky Atlantic from 25 April 2016. For more news about the biggest movies, pick up the new issue of SciFiNow.