2009 Hugo Award winners

Science Fiction’s greatest prize reveals its winners this year.


At Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon event held in Montreal, Quebec last night, the winners of the 2009 Hugo Awards were announced. Neil Gaiman took home the award for Best Novel with The Graveyard Book, while WALL•E and Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog were the winners of the Best Long Form and Best Short Form Dramatic Presentation categories respectively. The full list has been included below.

Best Novel: The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins; Bloomsbury UK)

Best Novella: ‘The Erdmann Nexus’, Nancy Kress (Asimov’s, Oct./Nov. 2008)

Best Novelette: ‘Shoggoths In Bloom’, Elizabeth Bear (Asimov’s, Mar. 2008)

Best Short Story: ‘Exhalation’, Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)

Best Related Book: Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade Of Whatever, 1998-2008, John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)

Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne And The Chapel Of Bones, written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colours by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: WALL•E, Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter, story; Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon, screenplay; Andrew Stanton, director (Pixar/Walt Disney)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, Joss Whedon, Zack Whedon, Jed Whedon, & Maurissa Tancharoen, writers; Joss Whedon, director (Mutant Enemy)

Best Editor Short Form: Ellen Datlow

Best Editor Long Form: David G Hartwell

Best Professional Artist: Donato Giancola

Best Semiprozine: Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H Segal

Best Fan Writer: Cheryl Morgan

Best Fanzine: Electric Velocipede, edited by John Klima

Best Fan Artist: Frank Wu

This year’s John W Campbell Award for the Best New Writer was presented to David Anthony Durham.